Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{December 7, 2008}   In which I introduce myself.

Hello!  This is very new to me, but I’ve been reading other people’s blogs, and have been inspired.  My name is Nina, like Chris Columbus’ ship, and I’m an RN from Tennessee.  I once told someone that in a bar when asked for my name, and he called me “Mayflower” the rest of the night.  True story. I didn’t give him my number. (We didn’t want him to have any delusions of grandeur about procreation with that level of brain power.)  Did, however, tell him that he was approximately 130 years too late in history.  Happily, the man I married is brilliant, and keeps me in the lifestyle to which I’ve become accustomed.  Currently, we’ve been trying to have a baby, with no luck.  Hopefully, this will change soon, as (and this comes with working in healthcare) I have very little patience.  Really, no pun intended.  Anyway, I’ve just come off of the worst Thanksgiving holiday in the history of NPS (see name of blog if this abbreviation is a mystery).  I’m not pregnant, my mother-in law (more on her later) can’t use tact or class with any agility whatsoever, and the sewer backed up into my house causing us to incur a huge bill for plumbing.  Oh, and I was also on call the first day back at work after this mess, and just knew that I’d have to clean the bathrooms when I got home.  Did I tell you about my wonderful husband?  He had it all done when I got home.  He really deserves a “major award.” (Wink, wink, nudge, nudge;))  Actually, he deserves that a lot more than he gets it.  He’s really quite long suffering.  Been married 7 years and no itching yet, bless him!  However, how he turned out even remotely normal, given his lineage, is beyond me.  The rest of his kin crawled out from under a huge boulder, not just a rock.  Bless their hearts.  (In the south, this is how we absolve ourselves of any guilt from our opinions and being angry with people.  Bless their hearts.)  Will comment on in-laws more when we get through the holiday season.  After this past weekend, I can’t wait to see what they’ll come up with to irk me about next.  I honestly think I could give my entire month’s salary if my MIL would move to China and never return.  Ok, been real, love y’all, gotta go.

Geohde says:

Welcome to the blogosphere. 🙂

I recognise your story.

Wishing you lots of luck as you tackle the ‘what now’,

xx

J



Leave a Reply

et cetera
