Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{December 24, 2008}   Grandparents

I really love my grandparents.  I still have all 4 of them, but my mother’s parents are the ones I spent summers with and got to play games with and cook and bake and stuff.  I actually enjoy spending time with them and talking to them.  I was taught that you don’t go to gp’s house to watch tv and read books.  You go there to visit.  So, I learned to visit everywhere I go.  My husband, however did not.  He complains each and every time he has to go there.  I get so irritated at him, because they’re not going to be alive forever, and they’re starting to deteriorate already.  Just because they’re older doesn’t mean their opinions are worthless.  My grandpa should have been a doctor.  He’s brilliant, he just grew up in the country with no money for college.  My grandmother graduated high school and went to business school to learn to type.  Then they got married and had Mom and E.  They’ve lived long full lives and have lots of stories and have lived through so much.  I think it’s really cool to talk to them and spend time with them and learn from them.  I think older people in general are great, but I guess that’s a side-effect of my job.  I give up.  I’m not going to make my husband go anywhere anymore, because he just embarrasses me and sits in the corner and stares at everyone.  I can’t change him, and I can’t make him social, so it’s just better that I say he’s working, I guess.  He’s just a man.  I gotta stand by him, I reckon.  You know the woman who sang that song is dead?  Liver cancer, I think.  Shows you how old fashioned that line of thinking is.  Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
