Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{January 22, 2009}   Gifts

Today one of the neurosurgeons (who, by the way, is a pissy whiny ass!  You can just tell he was one of those kids who sniffled and hid behind his mother’s britches.)  was talking about people’s gifts, such as memory, or music, or the ability to sing or write.  He started asking everyone what their gift was.  He asked each person in the room, and when he got to me, he said “So what’s your gift?”  I said “The gift of gab.”  The whole room cracked up.  I’m just funny like that, I guess.  It is said that I can talk the hind legs off a donkey.  They’re probably right.  Ever since I’ve had vocal cords, pretty much everyone I’ve ever met has told me I talk too loud, too much, too vulgar, too abrasive, etc.  Oh well.  I read a book at work when the case gets slow, sometimes.  Now before you panic, understand that in an OR, once the patient is positioned, and surgery has begun,  the nurse is a glorified gopher.  You know, “Go pher this, Go pher that.”  So, if they don’t need anything, and I’m done charting, it can get very, very, veeerrrrrry boring.  When I get bored, my mouth opens.  Now, would you, as a patient, want your surgeon distracted by conversation in the room, or would you like him to be able to concentrate?  Yeah, uh-huh, I thought so.  So, I usually tell the surgeons that I can read a book, or I can tell you aaaallll about my weekend.  You pick.  (They usually ask me what chapter I’m on at this point.  I get to continue reading.)  So if anyone needs anything, just holler!  I’ll be in the corner, trying to behave myself.  (I’ll let you know how it turns out.)

Well.. depends. What is the genre?



Nina says:

I usually like classical literature. Pride & Prejudice, Rebecca, Gone With the Wind, etc. However, I can be seduced by the occasional thriller by James Patterson, or Patricia Cornwell. And once in a while, when I get a wild hair, a good smutty romance novel!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
