Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{January 27, 2009}   Did I mention I have dogs?

Yeah, because I do.  2 of them.  One’s a 90 lb bulldog, and the other’s a 20 lb pug.  We only like smushy noses at our house.  It’s actually funny, because when I take them to the vet, they look at dogs with long noses and both tilt their heads to the side with this very quizzical look on their face.  You can just tell they’re thinking “What kind of dog are you?”  My sister said that when she had to pug-sit, he did the very same thing when he came in contact with her horse.   This morning, I went downstairs to let them out, and noticed some sort of gross pussy (get your minds out of the gutter!) abscess on my bulldog’s back!  It had sprung a leak and was currently running down his flank and generally making a mess.  UUuuuugggh!  Anyway, I’m an OR nurse and immediately realized that my skills might be useful, disgusting or not.  So, I got him in the tub, scrubbed up, and proceeded to bathe and wishy-wash the wound.  I did this until no more pussy, yellow, infected goo was coming out of it, then slathered on the neosporin.  I’ll just have to watch it for the next few days and make sure it doesn’t get worse, or he doesn’t start acting sick.  I expected him to whimper, or bark or bite me or something, but he didn’t do any of those things.  Either he trusts me and knows I’m not going to hurt him, or it didn’t really hurt in the first place.  I just know that those things on humans hurt like a _________.  (Fill in the blank.  Please feel free to let the creativity flow.)  If it gets worse, I’ll take him to the vet, but right now, I don’t think they would have done anything differently than what I did, and just charge me $800 for it, or something.  Maybe it can be prevented by just bathing him more often.  I’d forgotten that bulldogs have “thenthitive thkin.”  We haven’t had a problem in so long, it just sortof snuck up on me.  *bad nurse!  bad, bad nurse!*

Leave a Reply

et cetera
