Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{February 11, 2009}   She made my day.

In a good way.  Not the Clint Eastwood kind of way.  I was in an emergency case today, and the nurse anesthetist gave me the nicest compliment.  Now, you all know, that sometimes people blow smoke just to get in your good graces.  But this lady has been a nurse for over 40 years and I can only hope to grow up to be just like her.  For those who don’t know, the nurse anesthetist is a master’s prepared RN licensed to administer anesthesia.  They are like nurse practitioners in that they don’t have to be supervised by doctors, but most of them are, I believe.  I was talking to her about the new crop of anesthetists that had been hired, and how even though they’ve been in the OR approximately, ohhh say, 4 weeks, they tend to give us a lot of attitude when we try to help and make their job easier.  She turned to me and said, “Nina, they are all good nurses.  However, you must remember that some of them have only been nurses for 2 years or less.  They don’t know even half what you do.  Even though you’re young, you’ve had your growing pains like we all have, and it’s behind you now.  They’ve just got to get there too.”  Wasn’t that the nicest compliment?  I’ve said since I’ve known her that I’d like her to take care of me if I ever needed anesthesia, and I really like the way she cares for her patients.  She’s like Mama Bear.  Keeps everything anatomical covered that should be for every patient, conscientious in her care in general, and soooo much experience.  She gives the same care to all.  I’m so flattered, I just don’t know what to do.  I’ll have to get her a card.  Maxine would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
