Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{March 17, 2009}   Merry St. Patrick’s Day.

Ok, so you know how I was so green, I was looking like a new spring plant in need of a lot of water?  Yeah, well, I still am, except today, nobody’ll notice.  Tomorrow is (should be) CD1.  We’ll see.  I doubt I’ll actually be seeing red.  You know, Van Gogh painted a lot in yellow.  He was depressed, too.  I’ll let you know if knives start looking like fun.  Of course, I do work in an OR.  And I do like yellow.  A bit creepy, ya think?  I think I’ll start calling it St. Pee-Sticks Day, in honor of all my new friends and affiliates in the infertile/miscarriable realm.

As I’m re-reading this post, I am thinking to myself.  And what I’m thinking and writing on my blog reminds me a whole lot of William Faulkner.  Stream of Consciousness.  I never understood that in high school, but I’m beginning to think that was because it was his stream.  My stream makes perfect sense to me, although likely not to other people.  But, I’m used to baffling people with the contents of the remotest part of my brain.  It’s a gift.  The thing is like a computer.  Best not to do or say anything funny or rude around me.  Gets filed away for later use, as my husband will regretfully tell anyone who’ll listen.  He’ll start telling me what was said,and I usually retort “Nooo, what you said was…fill in the blank. *sighs*  It can also be a curse.  Mama thought I had a photographic memory when I was a kid.  I don’t know.  I’m like that with numbers too.  She probably thought it was a curse that she had to have such a child as could remember every move she ever made to tell anyone who would listen.  For neither was I a shy child.  I probably would have walked up to a homeless man and started telling him all about my new shoes and the time Mama forgot to pick up milk if he quit talking to himself long enough.  (And if no one were holding firmly to my hand.)  Hmmm.  I still do that.  Maybe we really did learn all we needed to know in Kindergarten.  It’s best to hold hands and stick together.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
