Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{March 23, 2009}   Backseat driving

I’ve promised my husband that if he feels 1/10th of the irritation that I feel when he tries to tell me how to drive, I’ll do my best to look out the window and not say anything.  However, I do reserve the right to laugh when he gets a ticket for something stupid.  Today, he was telling me to go, to cut across traffic and pull out.  I don’t drive like that.  I calmly, and patiently (I know.  Crazy.) wait for an opening.  *sighs*  Boys are ______.  You guess.

In other news, I feel better today.  Maybe just deciding to be better makes it so.  I guess that will only take me so far, but it’s something anyway.  Yesterday, while I was performing my “wifely duties” in going to the gun show and standing there, rolling my eyes while my husband bought his new penis award, I looked up and saw an old boyfriend from high school.  He was one of the exhibitors.  Of all places.  He was always nice to me, even after we broke up, so we greeted each other.  I introduced my husband and we caught up for a few minutes.  It was nice to see him, I just didn’t expect to see him there!  He asked if YCU was there to buy me a gun and I asked him if he really thought that was a good idea.  Like, how long have you known me?  I think I’ve stated before that I couldn’t be president because I’d hit the nuke button over a bad hair day or a sexist comment from the shah, or something.  (Oh hayelll, no he didn’t!!)  I really don’t think it would be safe to let me loose with a gun.  Especially considering my current mental state.  I might crack and go completely postal and end up on the news.  No one will understand what set me off when the police are talking into the megaphone “Now, Nina, let’s all just relax….

well, i feel your pain. I am the Queen of Awkward Ex Encounters. OH, and friends i haven’t seen from the 90’s, which i did finally write a blog about.

sigh.



Erin says:

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said “And that is why I can never own a gun!”. My temper would get the best of me….oh and if I had one in the car when my husband called me a chicken for not pulling out into three lanes of traffic, we’ll I wouldn’t have a husband anymore 😉 JK

Totally get where you’re coming from!



thedaythatidie says:

stupid goes to your blank! did i guess correct?

cool, you wrote an “i-feel-better” paragraph.



Nina says:

Yes you guessed correctly. You see I’m not allowed to blog about certain people anymore, so I have to make people guess what I’m thinking. Ingenious, eh?



John and I fall out over his driving just about every time we get in the car. Personally, I think it’s a mircale we’re all still here!



geohde says:

Nina,

I’m glad you’re currently feeling a little better,

xx

J



Nina says:

Thanks. I’m going to try not to get into that state again. Although, I think the only way to accomplish that is maybe to not have menstrual cycles? Yeah. Probably just like I said. I need a hysterectomy.



Melissa says:

HI! I am here from ICLW and just wanted to say that I am so sorry that you are feeling this way. I just read back some of your recent posts and I could feel your pain. I truly do wish that things start looking up for you and Congrats on the weight loss. DH and I argue all the time about driving. He complains about me and vice versa..I think that is written in a book somewhere of how men and women are supposed to act towards each others driving skills! Hope you have a better few days in a row!



My beloved and I have recently gotten into some intense ‘discussions’ about his driving recently. I do love to laugh when he gets caught doing something stupid tho… until the cost of the ticket comes out of my paycheck. *sigh*

ICLW



brown-eyed-girl says:

My hubby’s driving totally sucks! I just stare out the window and try not to say to much because at least he’s driving for a change and not me! I can’t help, however, pointing out some of his sillier mistakes and it drives him nuts. Ain’t love grand!

ICLW



Leave a Reply

et cetera
