Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{June 3, 2009}   Jersey City?

This am, at 0445, I dropped my YCU off at the airport to fly one-way to Newark, New Jersey.  No, I didn’t throw him out for calling me Biggie Smalls, (although the thought did cross my mind) he’s going up there to look at a car and ostensibly is going to drive it all the way back to TN.  A northern car, which is 22 years old, has been exposed to the elements up there, and did I mention it was 22 years old and he thinks he’ll be fine driving back to Tennessee in it?  *hands rubbing face in frustration and anguish*  When will he learn?  And all the cautionary statements in the world from me mean nothing, because he’ll get up there, play with it for a bit, forget about the fact that he has no tools on this 12 hour trip, get all excited over something, well, not new and shiny, just something he wants, and I’ll end up driving to Virginia tonight to get him.  And we’ll have to finance a new-to-him car, cause he will have spent all the money on this one.  22 years old.  This car is considered antique!  You don’t take classic cars that have been fully restored on long road trips!  What is he thinking?  Actually, I know what he’s thinking with, if not the actual thoughts.  This car better be reliable, safe, and have hook-ups for a car seat, is all I’m sayin’.  It’s probably a gas-hog, leaks oil, smells, is rusted beyond all belief.  He looked at pictures, but there’s lots of things that can be covered up over the internet.  We are not amused.

Enna says:

…just think, it would make for interesting blogging…

Yeah, that’s all I got.



CityGirl says:

The alternative is for him to restore a car himself, and believe me, you DO NOT want to live through that experience.



Nina says:

I already have. I was trying to nip it in the bud. Didn’t work. He’s driving home right now.



Yikes! I was going to ask could you talk him out of it, but I see there is no point. Good luck with that one…..



becomingwhole says:

My condolences.



battycatlady says:

…Wow. If you’re trying to make me feel better about being single, it’s working beautifully. Good luck with this one.



Nina says:

Well, he ended up getting it brought home on a trailer. I hope this works out and he can sell it in a few months when he gets tired of working on it all the time. I foresee disappointment.



geohde says:

Can I simply observe…the things men do. 🙂

g



CORDER says:

There weren’t any cars made in 1987 worth going to New Jersey for, even if they were giving them away. Bless you, for allowing him to hide in the garage and enjoy the simple pleasure of fixing an obsolete car.



Nina says:

My thoughts exactly. He says he’ll be working the gremlins out today. We’ll see.



Hootie says:

There’s probably some unmet need left over that was never taken care of in his childhood. Bless you for letting his little boy out to play (at least for a little while!) Try to be a good sport about it and maybe he’ll be inclined to let your little kid out to play sometime, too. (If not, you can gently remind him of this adventure!)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
