Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{August 30, 2009}   More Springer.

He should just move into my house. Last night, my husband texts me saying that his ex-stepdad (The MIL’s been married 3 times, now, I think? She must think that makes her more desirable. I don’t know, but to me, anyone who’s been married over twice just screams “RED FLAG, RED FLAG, RED FLAG!!” But, I digress.) has moved about 45 minutes away from us, and we’re going to visit. Tonight. “Huh,” I think to myself. Ok. Wonder what prompted that. Well. Let me just fill you in. As it stands, I’m not gonna be able to let my son out of the back door without armed bodyguards. The ES’s woman/common-law wife has a 26 year-old son, who by all accounts is very wealthy, and a very successful racecar driver that was arrested and indicted on child solicitation charges via internet, after showing up to *ahem* “collect his spoils” so to speak. He’s told his mother that he didn’t even get out of the car, and that all he did was to pull into the parking lot of the school. First of all, what the hell was he doing there, if he knew the girl was still in school? He also told his mom that she told him via PM that she was underage. So, the question remains. What the hell…..anyway. He’s in a federal prison in Indiana(?) and they moved so she could be closer to him. Now, this is the only dad my husband has ever known, he’s an alcoholic, has no teeth, and now is in possession of a stepson sex offender. And I wonder why I’ve had to housebreak him (the husband, not the ES). I keep thinking my husband really wants no part of his group of genetic/nurturing bodies, but I’m beginning to think otherwise. Ohhh. My husband has been very positively influenced by my dad, grandads, and uncles, but I don’t know if it’s enough to combat this. I told YCU last night on the way home that we are NOT having them over the house all the time. A little of them goes a long way, but especially now that they’re blind proponents of a convicted felon!! I know. I already sound like those crazy mothers that want to burn the Harry Potter books, right? You know, the ones who block out all the tv channels except PBS and the christian cartoon channels? Oh, I don’t want to be like that, but I don’t want my kid exposed to this, either. I’m already coming in contact with people who are giving me that knowing look, and you can tell they’re thinking to themselves “She’ll see, once that kid gets here, she’s just gonna have to give in and let ‘fill in the blank’ happen.” I just try to respond that all I have is convictions and a plan. It might not work, but I’ve gotta try, right? All of a sudden, all these undesirables are coming out of the woodwork! Why do they pick now to latch on? Why? Oh, and apparently, my dad’s wife’s kids are just exactly the kind of trouble we thought they were. He told my husband that one of the boys (I’m not sure which one) is in lockup right now. My husband interjected that this was presumably for drugs, but Dad wasn’t really clear. And apparently, Dad is just going along with her, saying how great he is, and he just can’t believe it, etceter-AH, etceter-Ah, etceter-AH. (Watch “The King and I” with Yul Brynner, if you don’t get it.) You know, Dad used to be smart. Dad used to not want us to associate with known criminals. I can’t believe he’s going along with this! What’s the deal? Are there just more stupid people in the world than there used to be? And how did we get roped in with them all! It makes me want to not leave the house. This is probably just due to hormones and pregnant brain, cause I know I can’t control every situation. But all this just creeps me out to the core! It seems like every “grown-up” (read parent/step-parent/adult older than us in our family) in our lives has gone bazonkers, and there’s nothing we can do to stop it! Did they not pay attention to all those lectures they gave us growing up? I can still repeat some of them word for word. You know, the one where they kept telling us “If you associate with poor examples, then you are guilty by association”, blah, blah, blah. (This lecture was repeated a lot.) I don’t get it. I just don’t get it.

Kristin says:

You don’t sound crazy at all. You sound remarkably sane given what you are dealing with.



rosesdaughter says:

Family (and in laws) never cease to amaze me.



Enna says:

You’re not crazy – there’s a difference between burning books and not letting people who have been convicted for soliciting underagers on the internet see your child. Kudos for you!



becomingwhole says:

Hugs to you. Got some crazy Springer stuff of my own going on. Will blog about it soon-ish. You have my sympathies. Repeat after me: they are the crazy ones, not me.



Lorza says:

I don’t think you are crazy at all. I don’t think it is pregnancy brain- it is just more in your face now that you are thinking about your child. When you know someone ‘close’ to you is child predator it just gets filed away when you don’t have a child- you think “that is horrible”, etc. Then I would imagine when you have child it is more of an immediate threat. (This is all speculation on my part as I have no kids).

Good luck my dear!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
