Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{December 17, 2009}   The men in my life…

are both fast asleep. I’ve been by myself with the baby all day, cause my husband’s been asleep. (He works nights, so it’s necessary to sleep during the day. I wasn’t being sarcastic, for once.) I’m beginning to understand why new moms need help. It’s not that they necessarily do anything, these people just keep you sane when you’ve done everything you can think of and he’s still crying. I’m calling my sister to come tomorrow. Of course, I felt extreeeeeeeeemly dumb when I was at my wit’s end and getting frustrated and realized he was just wet. No wonder I didn’t see any poo. Wet and cold counts too, ya know. *sigh* There’ve been some moments when I really think I have an aptitude for this, and some moments, well, not so much.

Jo says:

You’ll get the hang of it in no time. Thinking of you lots and lots these days!

Hugs,
Jo



Nina says:

Oh, Jo. You’ve been very encouraging. Thanks so much!! I’ve been thinking of you too, as you’re going through your first IVF. I hope to hear good news soon!



dragondreamermom says:

You are doing fine. You can still string together a coherent sentence. Your son is growing and thriving. You are seriously rocking motherhood.



Kristin says:

PS…that was me right above.



rosesdaughter says:

you’ll be fine!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOU ARE A GREAT MOMMY!!!! YOU ARE DOING A WONDERFUL JOB!!!!
(just a little encouragement from one mom to another!)



Nina says:

Thank you all so much. However, I did walk out of the house and get 20 miles across town this morning before I noticed we’d left the diaper bag at the house. This is liable to get real funny real quick if I don’t get some sleep soon! Sis is coming tonight though, so I think I’ll take a nap while she plays babies.



Hootie says:

Not to worry. Whatever you do to the kid (any worry about) he’ll get over it by the time he turns 18. Our first little boy did that to us, too. We tried lights on, lights off, music on, music off, more blankets, less blankets, on tummy, on back, on side with a rolled up blankie, new diaper, more milk—-no matter what—he howled. But the thing is, as soon as I started to stress about it, my milk lessened. So, sometimes you just have to walk away and smooth yourself out. Calm mommies make for calm babies–at least until they can tell you what it is they’re squalling about. Don’t be surprised if you have to go for a ride in the car with the little guy to get him to go to sleep. It’s happened to a lot of us, and after all, daddy is a car guy too!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
