Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{January 1, 2010}   You’re not a bad mama.

My brother told me that yesterday. He was trying to soothe my fears and let me know that sometimes all you can do is all you can do. He was telling me in the context that sometimes, you’ve done everything you can do, and the baby’s still screaming, and it’s ok to close the door and walk away. To get that kind of advice from my younger brother was a first for me. Usually it’s the other way around. But he’s done this in the very recent past, and has more experience than me, so I’ll take it. SIL was also very helpful. I didn’t do a lot of reading beforehand, cause I figured I’d helped out in the nursery, and I knew some soothing techniques, changed lots of diapers due to my cousins’ massive fertility spike, and I’d given a baby a bath before, so what else could there be, right? Yeah. Boy, was I lost. I’ll be giving him a bath solo for the first time tonight. I’ll let you know how it goes. Oh, score one for Mama. Diaper rash? Gone. A little powder, some butt spackle, and frequent changes and we got it licked. Figuratively. You knew what I meant. I’m still not consistent with pumping. Should I pump after I feed him or before? And how many times a day? Help me out here, please!

Happy New Year! Last night was our anniversary, but as usual, we’re broke, so we had to make do with spending time together (not much since he was sleeping most of the day, and had to work last night) and playing with the baby. Some day, we’re going to take a month-long tour of Europe to make up for all these penniless milestones. Unless, of course, I’m just doomed to be poor. Oh, well.

Kristin says:

It sounds like you are a wonderful mom.

As for pumping, does he eat from one or both sides at a feeding? If he tends to only eat from one side, then pump the side he didn’t eat from. Otherwise, pump after probably.



g says:

I will not tell you just how many times I carefully put my wailing (despite everything) twins in their cribs, shut the door, and walked off to drink wine in the shower so I couldn’t hear it anymore.

Amazingly, they usually were in a much better mood when I emerged, and so was I.

g



rosesdaughter says:

I tend to pump afterwards. You have more milk in the morning, so do it after that first morning feeding( I wait for 30 minutes to an hour). I am building up my freezer stash as of yesterday(3 weeks until work 😦 ) I pump once a day, or once for each boob. But keep in mind that I can get 3 or 4 oz off of one breast in one session.



Quiet Dreams says:

You sound like you’re an amazing mom. I’d trust you with my nieces and nephew anyday! 😉



Leave a Reply

et cetera
