Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{March 1, 2010}   Let’s see…

This week a girl I work with had a c-section. First they had to do a d&c for bleeding. Then she still wouldn’t stop bleeding, so they had to do a hysterectomy. THEN, they nicked a uterine artery, and she almost bled to death. CPR, intubation, ventilator, 20 units of blood, the whole nine yards. The whole thing gave me goosebumps. Baby was fine, thank goodness. I’m not sure how her partner would have dealt without something to focus her attention on. But for the grace of God go I.

I entered my baby in a photo contest. He’ll win, of course. Should anyone at that publication *coughAmerican Babycough* have the audacity not to select my child, well…I plan to demand an explanation in a strongly worded letter. But he’ll win. So I won’t have to get carpal tunnel syndrome typing the damn thing. Cause he’ll win.

I worked some more on his baby book. Put in pictures and everything. My husband decided to use his free time wisely today and finally print out the damn pictures I’ve been losing shoes up his ass over for quite some time now. *contented sigh* It’s so much easier to walk with both feet on the ground, you know. All kidding aside, he’s really been sweet lately. He’s actually helping with the baby more, and being very snuggly. It’s been nice. I know, I’m gushing. Feel free to vomit. I’ll throw you a bucket. I do it for a living.

I was pontificating about and lamenting my wardrobe the other day. When the cutest clothes you own are maternity clothes, ummm…that’s bad. I used my birthday money and bought some new spring tops. Too bad I won’t get to wear them for like, oh, I don’t know, another MONTH. I had to exchange one of them. I was unable to try them on at the time due to a certain YCU that doesn’t understand fit and I quote “didn’t have time.” I took my sister the next time. I exchanged my top and played British Bound Barbie. She’s leaving for England on Friday, so I dressed her. It was fun. We were actually able to spend time together and not threaten to kill each other. So out of character for us. We can usually only take each other in person in very small doses. We’re talking minutes here. I was on call all weekend, and she came to help with Mini-Me. I never got called. This is unheard of. Very twilight-zonish. I work in a 700+ bed hospital. It was a full moon. I should have never seen my sister, except for passing her in the driveway. Strange. *doo-doo-doo-doo, doo-doo-doo-doo*

Oh, yes. The MIL. Well, this week, she’s filing for custody of my stepson. For a myriad of reasons, he can’t come live at our house, and he can’t go back to his mother’s, so he’s in the best place for him. The Ex-Bitch (a.k.a Manbearpig) has wreaked havoc in our lives for the last 10 years. My husband informed his mother (the MIL) that if she was one day late with the child support, and she didn’t swear out a warrant for her arrest, she could just write him off, as he would never speak to her again. I’m not certain, but I think this was his way of letting her know she screwed up big by keeping the whereabouts of my stepson a secret from him. Big. Huge. I’ll get out my pom-poms and start cheering him on now, cause she’ll decide to do the “christian” thing, and let bygones be bygones, mark my word. She suddenly started going to church every time the doors are open and getting all holier than thou about us not going to church regularly. She’s gotten old and suddenly she’s afraid she might not get into heaven. That’s my theory, anyway. (Not that that’s how it works, but you know what I mean.) Hmmm. Guilty conscience, anyone?

My baby has the same bubonic plague/ebola virus that has settled in my and my husband’s sinuses. *sniffle* I’ve tried so hard to keep him from getting sick. He’s afebrile, but he’s all snotty and coughing up gunk. He’s not really enthused about the snotsucker either. What do you do? We’ve gotta get it out of his nose somehow. He’s currently sleeping sitting up in his swing with the humidifier and vaporizer for company. Poor baby.

Kristin says:

Sorry hubby and Fletcher are feeling yucky. And, sorry to hear about the drama involving stepson and MIL.

Glad to hear you and your sis actually had a good time together. Hmmm, maybe whatever kept you from being called in also insured y’all had a fight free time.



rosesdaughter says:

the humidifier has been my saving grace while the Pookah has been sick. Hope he feels better soon.



g says:

I had a friend who had an wmd arrest on the table in theatre after a pph. People forget just how risky childbirth is, even in the first world. One of the resons that I am not a home birth advocate even though that is NOT trendy to say,

g



g says:

emd. damn typos, although a wmd arrest sounds kinda cool.



CityGirl says:

How the heck do they perform a D&C while you still have a baby in there?

Never mind. I don’t want to know. I’m just glad she’s okay…

Give Fletcher’s widdle wed nose a ‘boop’ for me. :o)



Nina says:

No, she had the c-section first, then the d&c, then the hyst, then the uterine artery repair. Yeah, 3 abdominal surgeries and 1 vaginal surgery in under 24 hours. She shouldn’t have lived. Still gives me goosebumps.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
