Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{March 23, 2010}   My MIL called today.

I didn’t answer. My husband had already warned me about what she wanted. He has to work tomorrow and that left us without a baby-sitter temporarily. She basically laid herself out at his feet and begged to watch the baby. She would come to our house, she would bring [fill-in-the-blank], she had my stepson with her but would take care of any issues we had with him being there without us. Luckily for him, his knows-where-his-bread-is-buttered ass told her he’d have to discuss it with me. I don’t think so. I think I’ve mentioned here before about how likely elephants are to do the two-step before she keeps my baby unsupervised. Quite frankly, I’m afraid that should she get a wild hair up her ass and get angry with me for some reason, she might just try to take my child from me. While her home is the lesser of two evils for my stepson, she still was sneaky and conniving about the whole thing, and she basically took him from the Manbearpig (Ex-Bitch). I realize I’m 84 times the mother the Manbearpig is, but I wouldn’t put it past my MIL to fabricate as a means to an end. My husband can trust her all he wants. I don’t, and am highly unlikely to anytime in the next millenium. She just showed up anyway. *beleaguered sigh* My husband told me that’s what I get for not answering my phone. I told him he needed to handle his own mother. I told him that she needed to communicate with him, and if something needed to be run by me, he could do the running. I also told him that if he continued to push the issue, I’d have to get real honest with her about my trust issues, and I didn’t think he wanted that. Our regular baby-sitter is a saint, and called back earlier today with a favorable answer to our request. My offspring has progressed to holding things! And eating some rice cereal. He hasn’t quite mastered the grasping aspect of holding, but he understands the squeezing/taste-testing method. He’s brilliant. I knew it. My best friend called this week and asked if we were planning on having any more kids. I told her I’d like to get a full night’s sleep before making such a big decision.

Enna says:

*snickers at ManBearPig*



g says:

My MIL is also a piece of work. An interstate one. Thanks be.

g



Quiet Dreams says:

Ah, in-laws. The beauty of divorce–no more in-laws.



rosesdaughter says:

ManBearPig??????????? LOL!!!



JD says:

Someday you’ll be a MIL and will know what it means to “loose” your son to “another woman”.



Nina says:

I don’t know if I’ll ever “loose” my son, unless I decide he needs to be duct taped to the nearest tree for my sanity. I suppose I could “lose” him if I chose to look at it that way, but I hope to never treat my son the way my MIL treats hers. Or the way she treats her DIL, for that matter. I hope to think of it as an exciting event when my son gets married, not as an opportunity to control and connive from afar.



Nina says:

I have no idea who that is, incidentally. Could that be my first troll? Ooohhh! Ooh, ooh! Someone’s been trolling my blo-og, someone’s been trolling I kno-oh-oh-oh-ow…sorry. Got carried away with excitement!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
