Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{May 29, 2010}   I’m beginning to get concerned.

Ok, so we all remember the doctor at my new job that called me stupid (it better have been inadvertently), right? Well, the other day, I wore a new pretty white embroidered scrub top that I thought was just precious and he noticed. The day before that the first assistant told me he thinks Dr K likes me. When I told him that Dr K compared me to his sister who was the only girl with 7 brothers and “didn’t take no shit”, this same first assistant asked if he slept with his sister. Ew. I just threw up in my mouth a little bit, seriously. Even now, I’m getting a bit green around the gills thinking about it. Then yesterday, we were talking about Dancing with the Stars and he asked me if I was a good dancer. I explained about the whole lack of grace and coordination thing and his exact words were “Well, when you’re pretty like you guys, you don’t have to know how to dance…”. Hmmm. So, I’m stupid, but I’m pretty. Nice. While I understand that he likely meant the ‘pretty’ part as a compliment, I’m not sure what this says about how the rest of the world sees me. I’ve never thought of myself as one of those people lucky enough to get by on her looks. In fact, I’ve been told that I’m very confident and forward (and mouthy, maybe that’s not so good), and that this intimidates people. I’ve never felt like I’ve been awarded special privileges or anything. I’ve certainly always had to work for every thing I own. Ouch. Course, I also have to consider the possibility that he’s in my dad’s generation who, for the most part, are sexist, chauvinist, and politically incorrect on their best day, and truthfully can’t help it cause they don’t know any better, so he really thinks he’s a silver-tongued devil. Hate to break it to him, but he’s sooooooo barking up the wrong tree. Aside from the obvious (I’m HAPPILY MARRIED, for God’s sake), I don’t want a man that I have to compete with his job for attention, not to mention fat, old, and well, ok he’s got lots of money, but you gotta have more than just that going for ya. There’s something to be said for a man that’s home every night, and when he’s home, his mind is there too, not somewhere else. However, I’m curious. DO I present myself to the world that way? Hmmm…

rosesdaughter says:

LOL! You know how surgeons are, they think the world revolves around them and that includes “stupid, but pretty” girls.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
