Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{September 3, 2010}   For Halloween?

This is what I asked a co-worker when she was describing an outfit she’d ordered. It wasn’t. Foot, meet mouth. It’s been one of those weeks. I was called in the office at work and admonished that the “bickering in the back needed to stop” for being better read than my co-workers. They didn’t appreciate my superior vocabulary. I felt like I was in seventh grade all over again, and some dumb kid was afraid I was making fun of him. Oh, and they told my boss I was being disrespectful to the surgeons. Now, I’ve sassed a couple or six in my time, but tattling on me for changing his music (which was over, I just picked something new)? Seriously? Do we not have bigger things to worry about? So, anyway, I got called in the office and received a verbal reprimand. I’m still not sure why, exactly, other than I’m the new girl and these problems didn’t exist before so it must be me, right? So, like the big girl that I am, I confronted the co-workers and the doctor. I informed the guys that I didn’t “do” big pink elephants in the middle of the room, so if I ever bothered them, or hurt their feelings, it was completely unintended. I was told that “even though they knew I didn’t mean it that way, that’s the way it sounded”. I still don’t get it. If you knew I didn’t mean it that way, why are you upset in the first place? Whatever, sorry, let it go, right? Well. When I approached the doc, I started to apologize, and he interrupted me and said that he never said anything, he didn’t even give a shit, and that the guys were messing with me. Are you fucking kidding me? I’ve been called in the office and reprimanded and the surgeon had no issues with me at all? *coughBULLSHITcough* Someone is resistant to change and apparently, I’m making them seasick in what was formerly their very small pond. This pisses me off. Grow the fuck up, and quit with the male ego shit. I don’t have time for that. So, I went and told everyone (including my boss) what that doc said, and that what that told me was either a)he was angry and just didn’t want to admit it to my face, or b)someone’s trying to get me in trouble cause I’m throwing a monkey wrench into their smoothly running but incorrectly executed facade of competency. Hmphhh. I’m not having it. They will be called out and confronted. I don’t “do” big pink elephants, remember?

Kristin says:

Talk about juvenile bullshit behavior! Sorry you are having to deal with it.



Quiet Dreams says:

Sorry you’re having to deal with this, but you are seriously my shero!



Lord have mercy! Why is it that our workspaces feel like high school these days?



CityGirl says:

My MIL was the whatever technician in a cardiology group for many years. She and her coworker worked as slowly as a team of lame mules and, apparently, the old docs in the office were fine with that. They were slow, too.

New docs came in. Want people to work at a pace that wasn’t measured with a calendar. MIL got all bent out of shape. Went online and printed a study detailing the optimal number of patients a whatever technician should take care of in a day. Presented her research to the docs – new and remaining old – and ARGUED with them that she shouldn’t have to work any faster than she did. INSTEAD of just friggin’ adapting. It is unbelievable the lengths people will take to avoid change.

Also, the vocab thing? I once had to leave a cookout b/c some redneck of a grown man got ENTIRELY bent out of shape over my use of the word “uppercase” instead of just saying “big letters” like ‘normal’ people.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
