Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{October 7, 2010}   Christmas

I used to love Christmas. I had my shopping done by Halloween, typically. I started my list for the next year by New Year’s, as a rule. These last couple of years have been insane, and we didn’t buy gifts for each other even, last year, and the year before that, we only bought for each other. We haven’t drug out the tree or any decorations in several years. It’s made me realize how much I really don’t like shopping anyways, and a lot easier, since I didn’t have to stress over what to get who, or how much I was spending. I think the reason I truly loved Christmas was because I like to give gifts more than receive them. And trust me, that’s saying something. So since we’ve been broke or birthing or both, I didn’t care about Christmas, cause I didn’t really feel like I was participating. Unless it was in a tongue in cheek fashion. Year before last, I told everyone they could come to my house and flush the toilet while I sang “Jingle Bells” outside the door for their present (This was due to some amazing Plumbing Pyrotechnics), and last year, everybody got a new baby for Christmas. I promised to sing Away in the Manger. Everybody wanted to hold the baby, but no takers on the singing. Hmmmm……anyway. I really used to get irritated with my husband because he thought it was all supposed to be about surprise, and, well, you’ve all met me. Sort of. I, um, don’t ‘do’ surprises. In fact, I hate them as a rule. Actually, I should qualify that. I don’t like surprises that dance in front of me i.e “I’ve got a secret, I’ve got a secret!!!” If it’s truly a surprise, and I don’t know it’s coming and it’s least expected, then they’re fine. Usually. Christmas, birthdays, and generally anytime gifts are assumed to be given fall into the former category. Until these last couple of years, anyway. I actually enjoyed just going to my respective grandparents’ houses and hanging out with my family, and just being. I kinda want to do that all the time now. Please don’t get me wrong. I totally get that it’s not all about the gifts, but it was always so much fun when I was a kid, especially after I got old enough to buy my own gifts for everyone. I don’t know. I’ve got mixed feelings about it this year. It’ll be fun watching Fletcher open his presents with everyone, of course. I feel guilty spending any money on anything, really, when we’re always strapped. But I’m not sure I want to be the one to bring it up. I also feel guilty about accepting gifts when we can’t reciprocate. Most likely my amazing, wonderful, stupendous, magnanimous (I really can’t think of enough $5 superlatives to describe them after this week) family doesn’t care at all anyway, but I can’t help it. Oh, apparently we are doing Halloween this year. My husband had money burning a hole in his pocket, evidently, and bought Fletcher a tiny green dinosaur costume. With a tail. *shakes head, all the while unable to keep this out:Open the door, get on the floor, everybody do the dinosaur* Pictures coming soon. My baby wore shoes for the first time today. I know it sounds odd, but when he was first born, we dressed him in footie pj’s everywhere he went, then it was spring/summer and he didn’t need them. He thought they were tasty, I assume:

First Shoes!!!

Kristin says:

I absolutely can NOT wait to see him in his costume.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
