Ninapintasantamaria's Blog











{October 21, 2010}   If I agreed with you….

We’d both be wrong! I love that line. I’m gonna use it often.
Now, my week. Crazy? I has it in spades. But the most pressing problem was how to get a babysitter for Saturday. I had one all lined up till the girl’s boyfriend and my husband got into a teenage girl fight. The guy was trying to break up with her. She wouldn’t give it up, he wanted it, he was going on to greener pastures, but (I assume) just in case, he wanted to keep her available so he could go back to her if necessary, etc. So, since she was crying in my living room, my husband told her to move on, there were other fish in the sea, ya-da, ya-da, ya-da. The guy calls my husband telling him he hates him, he’s never speaking to him again, he’ll make sure she never speaks to us again either, blah, blah, blah. Like I said, teenage girl clones, right? So she cancels on me, leaving me without a babysitter, and I’m on call, which it’s too late to get covered. I was afraid I was gonna have to lock him in the employee lounge for awhile. I asked everyone at work that I could think of that had teenagers who might want some extra money. I finally got in touch with my brother and his wife and they’re gonna watch Fletcher overnight and I’m meeting them at church Sunday morning. Did I mention how awesome my family is? Just in case, yeah, they are. Speaking of church, my child is becoming the class clown. Two Sundays ago, he stood up holding the back of the pew, looking around, put his mouth on the pew (Ugh!), and started blowing raspberries. Now, this would have been cute, but, not so much in this case, due to the vaulted ceilings. Naturally, it echoed, drawing the attention of the entire congregation. As everyone is snickering, the minister becomes aware that the attention of the crowd is not on him, and upon discerning the distraction, says loudly: “Well, I can’t compete with that!” I wanted to crawl under the pew. And stay there. *sigh*
Today, my husband drove all the way downtown to fix my car in the parking garage. I thought some gremlins had taken up residence, seeing as the headlight was out, the auto switch on my power window didn’t work, and the dome light wouldn’t come on anymore. He told me he held the auto button down for 10 seconds, flipped the dome light’s switch on, and replaced the bulb in the headlight. It took him 3ish minutes, he said. Oops! I complain about him here a lot, out of transient frustration, but he’s really a good guy. He came home with all sorts of Victoria’s Secret goodies last week! Lip gloss, lotion, powder, under-britches, the works. What a sweetie!

CityGirl says:

I hope everything worked out for you tonight, sitter-wise.
::good vibes, good vibes, good vibes::



Nina says:

Thank you! Those vibes worked, Fletcher is at my brother’s, and I’ve not been called in yet! I’ve been lazy today, but it’s been worth it for some real relaxation time!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
